Perth Magic Circle

Perth Magic Circle

Perth Magic Circle was formed in February 1950. The first meetings were held in the York House Hotel, Perth. The club name at that time was Perth Magical Society. This was changed to Perth Magic Circle in 1954.

The founder members included John Beattie President, Douglas Cunnison Vice President, Ian Spark Treasurer/Secretary, Dr.John Aitken, Jack Whittaker, Gordon Smith and Leslie Dunne. The membership fee was set at ten shillings.

When new members came to join the club they were allocated a tutor. It is recorded in the minutes that the first novice to join was a James Stewart who had Douglas Cunnison as his tutor.

The club was just up and running when they received a letter from Paisley Magic Circle (16th May 1950) proposing the setting up of the Scottish Association of Magical Societies. The club took up the proposal and was one of the original six. They had a fallout with SAMS related to the Association magazine but they did rejoin the Association some ten years later.

The club on its first year made a profit of two pounds twelve and six pence.

The club were stretching their wings by 1952 and offered their services to the Perth District Council in the form that they would perform magic for any Old Folks’ Group as part of the Coronation celebrations.

The shows organised for the old folks must have been a success as the club were soon invited to provide entertainment at Perth Prison. Nothing is recorded of whether it was the old folks who suggested they should go to Perth Prison or if some of the old folk wanted to see them a second time.

The club did agree that lady members would be welcomed. As far as records show no ladies have applied up to 1999.

The club has moved its meeting place around Perth. They started in York House Hotel and then moved on to Masonic Hall, Playhouse Cafe, 7 Atholl Crescent, the home of Peter Moffat, Perth Social and Leisure club, and Perth Prison Officers Club.

Hon. Vice Presidents;
Donald Bevan, David Nixon, Bayard Grimshaw.

Jack Whittaker, Gordon Smith, Douglas Cunnison, John Beattie, David Harley, Bill Dunlop and Ian Spark.

John Beattie, Peter Moffatt, Ian Dougall, Jim Imrie, Adrian Harris, Alistair Cowe.

The club’s reputation has been kept to the fore by Peter Moffatt who published effects in Abra, Gen, Magic Mirror and Pentagram, and by Adrian Harris as a magical dealer and collector of Jack Hughes’ props.

The club and members have won one competition organised by The Scottish Association of Magical Societies

Ramsay Rose Bowl;
Jim Imrie 1989

Presidents of SAMS;
Peter Moffat, Adrian Harris.

A Brief History of Perth Magic Circle by Adrian Harris.
Abracadabra 1993 Volume 96 Issue 2491 Page 486
Peter Moffat.
Perth Advertiser Feb 1950